Rohit Sharma is captain as BCCI announces teams; Ravi Bishnoi earns maiden call

Report By Aman Kumar Singh

Noida: The Board Of Control For Cricket In India (BCCI) has recently announced this week the Indian team for home ODI and T20 series against the West Indies. Indian International cricketer Rohit Sharma who has recovered from his hamstring injury has returned to captain the Indian side for the first time. As the team’s full-time captain he will participate in the three ODIs and as many T20s against The Windies commencing February 6, 2021. Left-arm fast bowler or chinaman Kuldeep Yadav has returned to the team. Leg spinner Ravi Bishnoi, who made his mark with IPL and Under-19 cricket, has also been selected in the Indian team for the first time.

ODI and T20 series

The 3-3 match ODI and T20 series between India and West Indies is to be played from next month. The ODI series will start be played at the Narendra Modi Cricket Stadium in Ahmedabad. The T20 series will be played from February 16 at the Eden Gardens Stadium in Kolkata. The special thing is that after the dispute with BCCI, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma will be seen playing together for the first time. What is striking here is that  Kohli has opted not to rest. This means thsi will be for the first time that he will play under Sharma as the BCCI announces the two squads to take on The Windies.

Glory for cricketers

Born in Jodhpur (Rajasthan), Bishnoi has been included in the Indian team for the first time. He has played 17 and 42 T20 matches in List-A so far. He has 24 wickets in List-A. He hasn’t even played first class cricket yet. He was recently seen playing for Rajasthan in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Washington Sundar, who was out of the series against South Africa due to being Covid-19 positive, has also been selected in the team.

Pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have been rested from the series. KL Rahul will be available from the second ODI. At the same time, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is going through his final phase of recovery after a knee injury and will not be able to play in both the ODI and T20 series. Axar Patel will be available for the T20 series. Kuldeep Yadav played T20 and ODI series against Sri Lanka last year, after which he has been selected again in the team.

Team India for ODI series against West Indies:Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Rituraj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket keeper), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammad Siraj, Famous Krishna and Avesh Khan

Team India for T20 series against West Indies:Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohammad Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan and Harshal Patel

(Aman is student of BA-JMC first year from Maharishi University of Information Technology, Noida)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *